Sample Application for Limited License pursuant to Rule 15-301.2

In re the Application of

, Esquire,

For a Limited License pursuant to
Rule 15-301.2 NMRA of the Rules
Governing Admission to the Bar

APPLICATION OF , ESQUIRE, FOR A
LIMITED LICENSE UNDER RULE 15-301.2 NMRA

Applicant, , Esquire, respectfully rquests that this Court issue
a Limited Law License pursuant to Rule 15-301.1 NMRA and represents as
follows:

1. Applicant is licensed to practice law in the state(s) of
. Certificates of admission to practice and good
- standing are attached for each state in which admitted. (Exhibit A)

2. Applicant will be employed by , whichisa
qualified legal services provider as defined in Subparagraph (A)(4). A letter
certifying my employment is attached. (Exhibit B)

3. Applicant attaches hereto as Exhibit C a signed certificate verifying that
applicant has read and is familiar with New Mexico Rules of Professional
Conduct, Supreme Court Rules, and New Mexico Statutes related to
attorney conduct.

4 Applicant acknowledges the responsibility to pay a docket fee in the
amount of $125.00 to the New Mexico Supreme Court and a $156.00
disciplinary fee to the Supreme Court Disciplinary Board. @

Having complied with the application process pursuant to Rule 15-
301.1 NMRA, applicant respectfully requests that this Court issue a limited
Jaw license pursuant to the rule.

Submitted by:

Attorney at Law

Date



SAMPLE

CERTIFICATE IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR RULE 15-301.2 LIMITED LICENSE

1, , hereby certify the following:

& 1 have read and am familiar with the New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct, the rules of the New
Mexico Supreme Court, the New Mexico statutes relating to the conduct of attorneys, and the State Bar’s
Creed of Professionalism.

(SIGNATURE)

(DATE)



SAMPLE for EMERITUS APPLICANT

SWORN STATEMENT IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR RULE 15-301.2 LIMITED LICENSE

I, , hereby swear or affirm the following:

L 2 During the preceding five (5) years from the date of my retirement from the practice of law, I was not the
subject of disciplinary action by the bar or courts of any jurisdiction in which I am licensed.

(SIGNATURE)

(DATE)



SAMPLE for NON-ADMITTED APPLICANT

SWORN STATEMENT IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR RULE 15-301.2 LIMITED LICENSE

I, _, hereby swear or affirm the following:

4 During the preceding five (5) years from the date of this application, I was not the subject of disciplinary
action by the bar or courts of any jurisdiction in which I am licensed. Iunderstand that any complaints filed
against me shall not be considered disciplinary actions.

(SIGNATURE)

(DATE)



RULE 15.301.2 for LEGAL SERVICES LIMITED LAW LICENSE
CHECK LIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND INFORMATION
Rule 15-301.1 NMRA effective August 29, 2008

1. Application for a Limited License from an Emeritus Attorney or Non-Admitted Attorney(sample attached).

ik DINey:

good stand?;hyany bar (including NM) for 20 years and on inactive status if NM; active or inactive in
-any other state.

+ Swomn statement that no disciplinary xn in five yrs preceding retirement from practice of law.

v Original Certificate of Good Standing from all states in which admitted

v Letter from Director of legal services organization certifying employment

¢ Certificate that applicant read rules/statutes/creed - should tract language in 15-301.2(D)(3)

v Docket fee $125 check or money order payable to New Mexico Supreme Court

v State Bar Fee $100 check or money order payable to State Bar of New Mexico ($50 bar; $50 disciplinary)
(Effective 1/14/09)

good standing in any bar other than NM.

Sworn statement that no disciplinary xn in five yrs preceding retirement from practice of law.
v Original Certificate of Good Standing from all states in which admitted
v Letter from Director of legal services organization certifying employment
v Certificate that applicant read rules/statutes/creed - - should tract language in 15-301.2(D)(3)
¢ Docket fee $125 check or money order payable to New Mexico Supreme Court

v State Bar Fee $100 check or money order payable to State Bar of New Mexico ($50 bar; $50 disciplinary)
: (Effective 1/14/09)



L

15-301.2. Legal services provider limited law license. http://public.nmcompcomm.us/nmpublic/gateway.dll/nmsa1978/nmra/ o

15-301.2 . Legal services provider limited law license.
A. Definitions. As used in this rule, the following definitions apply:

(1) "applicant" means an attorney who meets the eligibility requirements set forth in
Paragraph B of this rule and who completes the application process in Paragraph C of this rule;

(2) "qualified legal services provider" means a not for profit legal services organization
whose primary purpose is to provide legal services to low income clients or a legal department
within a non-profit organization that employs at least one (1) lawyer full-time to provide legal
services to low income clients; and

(a) is an organization described in Section 501(c)(3) and exempt from federal income
taxes under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 or corresponding provisions of
federal income tax laws from time to time in effect;

(b) s registered with the New Mexico Attorney General Registry of Charitable
Organizations in compliance with the New Mexico Charitable Solicitations Act and;

(c) is recommended by the New Mexico Commission on Access to Justice.

B. Eligibility. Upon application, the clerk of the Supreme Court may issue a legal services
limited license to represent legal services clients through a qualified legal services provider to an
attorney who meets the following conditions:

(1) is an inactive member of the State Bar of New Mexico or an active or inactive member
of the bar in another state, territory, or protectorate of the United States of America or the District
of Columbia at the time of submitting an application under this rule;

(2) isin good standing in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed,
(3) satisfies the legal services limited license requirements set forth in this rule; and

(4) supplies a sworn statement that the applicant has not been the subject of disciplinary
action by the bar or courts of any jurisdiction during the preceding five (5) years; provided,
however, that complaints against the applicant shall not be considered disciplinary actions.

C. Application procedure. An applicant for a legal services limited license to represent legal
services clients through a qualified legal services provider shall file with the clerk of the Supreme
Court an application for a legal services limited license. The application shall be accompanied by
the following:

(1) a certificate of admission to practice and good standing from each state in which the
applicant is licensed to practice law or in the case of an inactive attorney a certificate showing that
attorney’s inactive status;

(2) a letter from the director of the qualified legal services provider that employs the
applicant certifying the applicant's employment, whether for monetary compensation or otherwise;

(3) a certificate signed by the applicant stating that the applicant has read and is familiar
with the New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct, other New Mexico Supreme Court rules and
New Mexico statutes relating to the conduct of attorneys, and the Creed of Professionalism of the
State Bar of New Mexico;

(4) a docket fee in the amount of one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00) payable to the
New Mexico Supreme Court; and
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15-301.2. Legal services provider limited law license. http://public.nmcompcomm.us/nmpublic/gateway.dl]/nmsa1978/nmra/

(5) a state bar membership fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) payable to the State Bar of
New Mexico, consisting of a state bar services fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) and a disciplinary fee of
fifty dollars ($50.00) in lieu of the fee required by Rule 17-203 NMRA. All fees and costs
associated with an application for a legal services limited license are not refundable.

D. License; issuance and revocation.

(1) If an applicant for a legal services limited license to represent legal services clients
through a qualified legal services provider complies with the provisions of this rule, the clerk of the
Supreme Court may issue a legal services limited license.

(2) A legal services limited license issued under this rule permits the applicant to practice
law in New Mexico only as an attorney representing legal services clients through a qualified legal
services provider.

(3) The clerk of the Supreme Court shall revoke the legal services limited license of any
person found in violation of this rule or any other rules approved by the Supreme Court regulating
the licensing and conduct of attorneys. Upon revocation of a legal services limited license, the
applicant shall not represent any legal services client nor appear before any court of the State of
New Mexico representing any legal services client.

E. Expiration. A legal services limited license shall expire upon the occurrence of any of the
following events:

(1) termination of employment with a qualified legal services provider;
(2) admission to the New Mexico Bar upon passing the bar examination;
(3) denial of admission to the New Mexico Bar;

(4) failure to maintain membership in good standing in at least one state bar in which the
applicant is a member;

(5) reinstatement under Rule 15-302 NMRA of an inactive member of the State Bar of
New Mexico; or

(6) failure to pay the annual state bar membership fee or meet minimum legal education
requirements under Paragraph F of this rule.

F. Legal services limited licensee status.

(1) An applicant granted a legal services limited license under this rule shall be a member
of the state bar and shall be subject to the Rules of Professional Conduct and the Rules Governing
Discipline.

(2) Licensees under this rule shall pay a reduced annual state bar membership fee of one
hundred dollars ($100.00), consisting of a state bar services fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) and a
disciplinary fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) in lieu of the fee required by Rule 17-203 NMRA.

(3) Licensees under this rule shall comply with the Rules for Minimum Continuing Legal
Education.

[Adopted by Supreme Court Order No. 08-8300-024, effective August 29, 2008; as amended by
Supreme Court Order No. 09-8300-001, effective January 14, 2009; by Supreme Court Order No.
11-8300-048, effective January 1, 2012; as amended by Supreme Court Order No. 13-8300-012,
effective May 14, 2013.]

20f2 o 3/5/2015 1:41 PM



